Critical Reflection – Rendering

Standard

Over all, I am very pleased with the look of my fruit bowl. However, there were quite a number of issues I wish I could have resolved before handing in the assessment. Some of these issues could have been solved, but time was a major factor with this project. I’ll admit that rendering isn’t exactly my strong point in this course, but I was determined to give it an attempt and see what I could create. 

Although the Global Illumination does not really stand out, its subtle presence makes the image appear unique and therefore realistic. Also I am quite pleased with the caustics in my scene. “Caustics are really great light effects that you can observe in liquids, glass objects and gems”[1]. The sharpness and the large area that the caustics cover are excellent. I really hoped that it would stand out within the scene and it did.

 

I wish that I had written more solid notes on all areas of what we covered on rendering in class. This would’ve given me a greater understanding of how to produce a truly beautiful photorealistic scene. The feature that took me the longest to get a grasp on was depth of Field. “Depth of field refers to the range of distance that appears acceptably sharp”[2]. Getting rid of grain and making the blurs realistic enough to be considered photorealistic. I believe that only one of my four final images really utilized depth of field properly.

 

Despite all the problems that occurred along the way, I am very pleased with the work I created. I wish that I had spent more time on this assessment as time was a major issue towards the end.


[1] CG Arena, accessed 20/6/13, last modified 2007 <http://www.cgarena.com/freestuff/tutorials/max/caustics/&gt;

[2] Cambridge in Colour, accessed 20/6/13, last modified 2013 <http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/depth-of-field.htm&gt;

Leave a Reply

